State & Local Links

Kansas State Government

The Kansas State Government is divided into three branches – Executive, Legislative and Judicial. Each branch has its own responsibilities, and checks and balances exist to make sure that the branches are working together for the people. Please use the links below to learn more about each branch, their responsibilities, and how they serve the citizens of Kansas.  The Kansas Government Portal is a comprehensive search site and resource that functions as a starting base for any information you may be searching for about the Kansas State Government. 

Executive Branch

The State of Kansas has a six-member executive branch, elected every four years by voters during the midterm elections.

  • Governor
    • The Governor is the chief executive of the state of Kansas.
  • Lieutenant Governor
    • The Lieutenant Governor is elected on a ticket with the Governor, and is first in line to succeed the governor. 
  • Secretary of State
    • The Secretary of State is the chief elections officer, and is also responsible for business regulation and administrative publication.
  • Treasurer
    • The Treasurer is the chief financial officer, in charge of deposits, investments, budget, and money management for the state. 
  • Attorney General
    • The Attorney General is responsible for providing legal services to the state government. 
  • Insurance Commissioner
    • The Insurance Commissioner is in charge of regulating Kansas insurance providers, and is responsible to those protected by insurance in the state of Kansas.

Legislative Branch

The State of Kansas’ legislative authority is vested in the legislature, including the powers to collect taxes, borrow money, and organize the state'a militia.

  • Kansas State Legislature
    • The Kansas State Legislature is a bicameral body consisting of the upper Kansas Senate and lower House of Representatives. The legislature meets once a year in January, and will usually meet for 90 days. 
  • Kansas State Senate
    • The Kansas Senate is made up of 40 members divided equally among the state’s 40 senatorial districts. Senators serve a four-year term, with half of the senate up for re-election every even-numbered year. The Senate elects its’ own president, who is second in line to succeed the governor.
  • Kansas State House of Representatives
    • The Kansas House of Representatives is made up of 125 seats divided proportionally according to each county’s population. Representatives serve a two year term, with the entire House up for re-election every two years.
  • Speaker of the House
    • The Speaker of the Kansas House of Representatives presides over the House, and is fourth in line to succeed the governor.
  • Legislative Budget Committee
    • The Legislative Budget Committee is a permanent joint committee of the Kansas Legislature that develops policy and budget recommendations on appropriations for state government agencies.
  • Kansas Legislative Division of Post Audit
    • The Legislative Division of Post Audit (LPA) is a joint legislative committee that conducts non-partisan audit reports for the Kansas Legislature.
  • Kansas Legislative Coordinating Council
    • The Kansas Legislative Coordinating Council is a joint legislative committee that assists in drafting legislation for the Kansas Legislature, also serving as an information source for Citizens of Kansas and other state agencies.
  • Legislative Research Department
    • The Kansas Legislative Research Department (KLDA) provides nonpartisan research and fiscal analysis for the Kansas State Legislature.

Judicial Branch

The Judicial branch is responsible for interpreting the state’s laws and constitution.

  • Supreme Court of Kansas
    • The Supreme Court of Kansas is presided over by a chief justice and seven associate justices. The justices are appointed by the governor from a list submitted by the judicial nomination commission. Justices are ratified by the electorate in the next general election following their appointment, and at the end of every six-year term.
  • Kansas Court of Criminal Appeals
    • The Kansas Court of Appeals is a three-judge panel that decides appealed cases by reading the record of the trial, reviewing briefs and hearing oral arguments.  

Office Locations